Meet the buddies

Hello Stormers!

My name is Steff van den Berg, and I am already (somehow) in my last year of GSS. I am originally from Aruba, and therefore I have an interesting status so to say. Although I have the Dutch nationality, just like people who are from the Netherlands, I had to move to the Netherlands and deal with all of the struggles that come with this whole journey. Getting housing, registering at the municipality, getting insured, and a bunch of other official procedures were also all part of my first year in the Netherlands. As I have gone through all of this already and learned quite a few things (some the easy and some the hard way), I would love to help anyone who is struggling with settling in the country as well.

In my free time I love to play tennis, go to the gym (Olympos <3), sing, and make music. I used to live in Zeist in the Warande building of ssh, but after living there for two years, I (finally) moved to the beautiful city center. With regard to GSS, I will finish my thesis in period 4 of this academic year, however, after that I will remain in Utrecht until further notice, as I think my chapter in this lovely city has not yet come to an end.

If you need help with settling in the country, or any other issue you are dealing with, you can call me on +310623966073




Hi there! My name is Giovanna, I’m a 19 years-old Mexican and I’m in my first year of GSS.

About my Dutch experience.. Last year I took a gap year to choose my bachelor and to make a trip to the NL, so I’d already spent 5 months in the NL before starting my bachelor's (which I really love). I lived in Amsterdam and Utrecht and now as an international student (non EU) I can help you with your questions regarding transportation, university, a bit of dutch culture, visa, registration, work in NL (non-EU) and other basic stuff. I know how hard or lonely life can be when you are so far from home (in my case 9,000 km), so don’t hesitate to reach me, even if you are not so sure how to formulate your question (always happens to me). Here is my email and my number +31 6 82696299

According to my friends, I’m a goofball as I have a variety of hobbies so you could find me anywhere, playing tennis, painting, photography, programming, etc. Fun fact: this year I will experience my first winter ever, so wish me some luck :)

Hey fellow Stormers,

I’m Luke, already 24 years old and currently in my last year of the bachelor. I spent most of my life living in Germany but have also had some experience living abroad and having to adapt to a new culture with different norms. We all know that finding a place to live in Utrecht, or the Netherlands in general, can be quite the struggle. I’ve gone through this myself as it took me a few months to find a place where I could stay until I finish my studies, so I have a lot of experience regarding websites, room applications, and everything relating to it. Especially as an international student without any prior knowledge in Dutch, it can take some time to really settle in. I’m happy to say that I really feel at home in Utrecht and will help you in every aspect I can to also make Utrecht feel like a home to you! Something that really helped me in that aspect, apart from friends obviously, is having a life outside of university, so I started working in Horeca. So if you want to find a job in Utrecht, I might be able to assist with that as well :D

In my free time, I love to cook vegan food, make music, explore the city in search of cool new spots and spend time with the amazing friends I’ve made here.

If you think I’m the right buddy for you, don’t hesitate to reach out! You can do so via or on WhatsApp via +491776238970.

Best, Luke



Hello those with questions, you’ve come to the right place.

My name is Len, 21, following the third bachelor year (Governance and Societal Transformation). Although I identify as a citizen of the Earth and don’t look the part, I am a 100% Dutch caucasian white man (not many diversity boxes being ticked here). For the past year I’ve been living in Utrecht. In these past 2 years, I’ve experienced many (international) friends and myself have to deal with a wide variety of different necessary hurdles that come with studying and living abroad/on your own. In order to make this process as smooth as possible, I am here to help out!

Some other things about myself that questions could specifically relate to: besides the bachelor, academic-wise, I’ve done a minor in Anthropology and am following the university-wide (unfortunately only in Dutch) Descartes Honours program. I’ve also been a teaching assistant for GSS-courses. Besides university, I mainly make a lot of music, especially with other people, so hit me up for information on all the Utrecht-based jam sessions and rehearsal options. Reading, partying in Utrecht or Amsterdam, checking out many thrift-shops and coffee places here and being active in Storm are some of my other hobbies.

Hi stormers!

I am Kirsten, 19 years old and a first year GSS student. I am Dutch and have lived here my whole life. Right now I stay with my parents at home, but I have lived by myself last year since I was studying in Enschede. I therefore do have experience with having to cook, clean, pay bills, finding a new gp or dentist etc. by yourself. However, it has a lot of fun aspects to it as well, such as sport associations or parties.

I also like to travel around the Netherlands, so I encounter a lot of public transport. Next to this, I love to be creative, go on hikes or cook delicious vegetarian (or vegan) meals.

So if you want information on Dutch culture, public transport, beautiful and fun places to visit or just want to ask for or share recipes, I am the one to contact!

Love, Kirsten